SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   US Navy Veteran_New to Sailboats_Need your Honest Knowledge and Experience_Thanks! (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/98641-us-navy-veteran_new-sailboats_need-your-honest-knowledge-experience_thanks.html)

AlyMel 04-18-2013 09:06 PM

US Navy Veteran_New to Sailboats_Need your Honest Knowledge and Experience_Thanks!

Ahoy ther,

My name is Aly and I am new to the sailboat world. I am a US Navy Veteran so I have experience with the Ocean and her greatness and beauty, and at times ugliness (;

Any who, I am definetly a noob at this sailing life style so bear with me as I get a bit wordy and please take no offense to my straight forwardness. I love you all (:

Please provide me with good detailed information as I try my best to explain what it is that my wife, Melissa (also a Navy vet) and I are looking to do.

1) We want to completely cut-off land life 100%

As I mentioned above my wife and I are Navy vets so we have been out to sea in the Pacific for over 110 days straight, so this is no issue for me or her. We miss Mother Ocean greatly! The dangers do not fase us, however, we have emence respect for her and the dangers that she possesses.
Melissa and I want to live "Full-Time" on a boat, as far away from shore as possible, No marina, No Slips, whatever! Completely away from all of society only to return to resupply or to perform or deal with any "unknowns" that arise which would force us to return to shore.

2) We understand this may not be cheap, but it is rewarding