SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Removing painted letters (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/98732-removing-painted-letters.html)

Pegu club 04-22-2013 08:57 AM

Removing painted letters

On the transom are painted on letters, can I remove them with thinner on a rag with out doing harm to the surface below the letters?

Yes a noob question, thats because I am new to this :)

Any suggestion will be appreciated, thanks.

mad_machine 04-22-2013 09:03 AM

Re: Removing painted letters

a lot of it depends on what they are painted on with

MSN2Travelers 04-22-2013 09:07 AM

Oven cleaner works well. Mask the area with a plastic sheet below the letter so the old paint can flow off without running down the rest of the transom.

Don't be surprised to find that the gelcoat below the old name is factory new while the rest of the hull has slightly yellowed with time.

nodders 04-22-2013 09:39 AM

Ditto the oven cleaner comment. I have used it on my boat (at the bow and transom) and it works like a charm. It may take two of three applications to get it all. The area under the letters will be a bit darker but not noticeable and the difference improves with time. There may also be a very slightly raised area under the letters, but again, not really noticeable.

DrB 04-22-2013 09:52 AM

Easy Off isn't "Easy Off"

I have painted letters on my boat that are starting to fade, crack and peel. Tried the Easy Off approach last night with no success. A little comes off, but not much. I even let it sit for 5 minutes and no enhanced results.

The Admiral recalls that the PO said the letters were painted on with "automotive" paint, which means it could be urethane,acrylic,enamel, epoxy,etc.