SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (sailing related) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/)
-   -   Sailing in Chennai, India? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/98829-sailing-chennai-india.html)

Joe_L 04-24-2013 09:07 PM

Sailing in Chennai, India?

I will be in Chennai for a dew days in May and would like to go sailing (day sail) on May 10th or 11th.
If anyone is there on that date and would like to take a novice skipper out for the day, I would be more than grateful. While I have some experience sailing on lakes, my goals are:
- get an experience of sailing on the sea in a 30 - 40 feet keelboat
- discover the sailing in India
- meet sailors halfway across the globe

jimgo 04-24-2013 10:38 PM

Re: Sailing in Chennai, India?

Have you been to India before?

shanedennis 04-25-2013 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimgo (Post 1021111)
Have you been to India before?

Great question! Chennai is a little more, ummm... organized than, say, Delhi or Mumbai, but I don't remember seeing any modern sailboats there. A zillion traditional fishing boats. Is there a yacht club or marina there?

Sent from my GT-P3113 using Tapatalk 2

jimgo 04-25-2013 09:57 PM

I would suggest looking closely with Google Maps at the coastline there. In a quick perusal, there aren't a lot of inlets/ports, and those that do exist don't seem to have any sailboats.

jimgo 04-25-2013 10:02 PM

If the OP hasn't been to India before, things are also done differently than they are in the states. Not necessarily worse, but different. I love being on the water, and I would love to go sailing in the North Sea, or the Med, the South Pacific, and several other places. Now, mind you, I have never been to Chennai and it may be perfectly fine, but I have a strong suspicion that the waters around Chennai are like those in Shanghai; not really something you'd want to ingest.