Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Helms
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2012

rstackjd is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rstackjd
Introduction and Question

Good evening all. My name is Bob from SE Wisconsin. I am new to sailing and looking for my first boat. I'm 53.

Our sailing will be mostly Lake Michigan and odds are the boat will be on a mooring during the sailing season. As newbie I'm expecting primarily day sailing relatively close to shore for a long time, and maybe the occasional overnight sail up to Port Washington or down to Racine or Chicago. Eventually I think I'd like to try racing.

I've found a 74 Helms 25 locally, with trailer, for under $1000. No motor and she needs some TLC, but overall I believe she is sound. I've got a friend who has a lot of experience with sailboats and restoration who is going to take a look at it for me, but he's not familiar with the Helms.

Any opinions on what the range of value for a 74 H25 is? I realize thats a broad question, so I think the real question is, when I factor in purchase price and whatever I have to invest in her, "how much is too much"?

Any unique Helms quirks I should look for, weak spots, common problems?

Any opinions on how this boat will be for Lake Michigan?

Thanks!

Bob
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-01-2012
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
Re: Introduction and Question

Bob,

You would save a lot of money on the cost of your first boat, if you look for a boat in excellent condition that is fully and properly equipped, including a recent motor. 25' is too small to weekend on, you would be better to go to a 27'.

Look at quality boats like Catalina or C&C, plan to spend $8-10 grand, and you are likely to start off on the right foot. Plus you will have a boat worth what you paid for it, and one you can subsequently sell for much the same price if you maintain her well.