Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > herSailNet
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2006

StillInShock is on a distinguished road
Suddenly inherited old boat

Hi All

I was thrilled to find a women oriented site.

I recently got a really cool old sailboat (old is 1970). It's been mostly neglected for the last 10 years, and I am resurrecting it.

It's hauled out in an expensive boatyard, and I feel like I have a "take advantage of me" sign on my back. Of course it shows that I'm a rank beginner.

I don't have a specific question, I don't even know how to ask an intelligent question, lol.

Suzanne
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-21-2006

nolatom will become famous soon enough
congratulations--take a deep breath--

and tell us some basics:

What kind of boat? Made of wood or fiberglass? How big? diesel or gasoline, inboard or outboard? What kind of sails, and how old? Wood spars, or aluminum?

You might want to consider hiring a good yacht surveyor to look over the boat and tell you what it really needs, and what can wait. The boatyard guys will be happy to work on it as long as you pay, the surveyor can tell you-and them-when to stop. You might need a survey to get insurance anyway.

For some of us, a 1970 boat isn't quite that "old". Let us know, and good luck.
Old 03-22-2006
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about
Very good point

Getting a survey can take that "take advantage of me" sign off your back. A competent surveryor, will be working for you, not the boatyard, and tell you what really needs to be fixed. Or, even if it's worth fixing in the first place. It will be money well spent.

Free, is the heart, that lives not, in fear.
Full, is the spirit, that thinks not, of falling.
True, is the soul, that hesitates not, to give.
Alive, is the one, that believes, in love.
JCP