SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   herSailNet (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/hersailnet/)
-   -   HOME SCHOOLING CHILDREN (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/hersailnet/467-home-schooling-children.html)

MIA 12-29-2000 03:39 PM

HOME SCHOOLING CHILDREN

I HAVE RECENTLY WORKED ON BOARD A BOAT AS A TEACHER. IT WAS A VALUABLE EXPERIENCE TO ALL. THE PARENTS LEARNT A LOT, I LEARNT TO LIVE WITH A FAMILY AND THE KIDS WERE THE BIG WINNERS. PREVIOUS TO MY JOINING THE BOAT SCHOOL WAS A PROBLEM. WE HAVE TO GET THIS DONE ATTITUDE AND TOOTH AND NAIL TO GET IT DONE. AFTER ONE WEEK THE CHILDREN WERE GETTING UP AT SIX THIRTY TO START SCHOOL. THEY WENT FROM 15 HOURS A WEEK TO 25 HOURS. THEY HAD A LOT OF RESPECT FOR ME AS THEY NEW I WAS A TEACHER. IT IS A REAL OPTION THAT I ENJOYED. I WILL BE LOOKING FOR A BOAT TO SAIL AGAIN DOING THIS BUT CAN ALSO HELP NETWORK YOU WITH OTHER TEACHERS IF YOU ARE INTERESTED. THIS IDEA GOES ALONG THE LINES THAT ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVE BEEN GOOD TO ME AND HELPED ME SO I ENJOY DOING THE SAME. EMAIL ME IF YOU WOULD LIKE IDEAS OR SUGGESTION. I HAVE HEARD A LOT OF GOOD REPORTS ABOUT THE NEW ZEALAND HOME SCHOOLING. I AM NOT A BIG FAN OF CALVERT. AUSTRALIA HAS HAD SOME REALLY GOOD HOME SCHOOLING IN PLACE FOR AGES BUT HAVE NOT DONE ENOUGH RESEARCH.
GDAY
MIA

explorers 01-01-2001 03:46 PM

HOME SCHOOLING CHILDREN

MIA,
Im just finishing a 20 year carreer with the US Marines. My wife and two boys ages 5&6 are investigating living on a boat in Austrailia. We want to buy, or rent or lease a boat and work in Austrailia for a year before returning to California. When you homeschool on a boat, did you live aboard or did you show up on school days? What is an average cost of schooling? Can you help?

MIA 01-03-2001 10:55 AM

HOME SCHOOLING CHILDREN