SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   herSailNet (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/hersailnet/)
-   -   Apprehensive Newbie (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/hersailnet/57018-apprehensive-newbie.html)

KTMCD 08-12-2009 11:00 AM

Apprehensive Newbie

I am happy you are all here! I am a newbie First Mate, love sailing, love the water, minimally experienced sailor whose husband just bought a boat (28 foot). I am interested in tips for equipping a galley and not dying of anxiety about what we just did. I know I will love the experience but need to get over the anxiety of what feels like a monumental decision. Tell me this a great move in middle age! Any help appreciated!

Soontobecruiser 08-12-2009 11:36 AM

Congrads on your new boat. The nerves will wear off before long. We went from sailing 16-18' sailboats to sailing a 36' sailboat on weekends evenings and vacations. After your first couple of trips your confidence in you and your boat will improve. We are trying to work our way up to cruising a 40+' cat.

As far as the galley goes are you planning to cruise, liveaboard or be day trips, weekend trips, and vacations?

KTMCD 08-12-2009 12:09 PM

Day and weekend trips to begin--eventually plan to do cruising down the east coast. Thanks!

rikhall 08-12-2009 01:37 PM

KTMCD shares good advice. "Day and weekend trips to begin"

Take ready to eat food. Buy a whole BBQ chicken (if you eat chicken) and it can be good for lunch and supper.

Bread and cheese and meats are also great. Take lots of "comfort food".

There were days when we went out to the boat on Friday after work, had supper on the boat, had wine etc on other boats moored close by, slept, had breakfast and then had a short day sail. Getting back in time, in the light, to secure everything and go home.

Take little steps until you feel good with them, then expand your horizon a bit at a time.

And remember - nobody yells! You are doing it for fun, so it should be fun for everybody.