Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > herSailNet
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2011

flbkroxie is on a distinguished road
Cabin Stereo Speaker Installation

FYI: I have never done anything like this before.
As I mentioned in an earlier post, I recently bought a Macgregor 26S and am in charge of all that goes with it. Husband is supportive, but this is my boat, so if I screw up, let's just call it a "learning experience".
My current project is a stereo system and cabin speakers (will work on cockpit speakers later). It has already taken me 2 days to mount the stereo unit, connect it to a power source, and run the speaker wiring (the hardest part of the job, btw). A friend is helping me with the cabin speaker cabinets. She has ALL the woodworking tools, since she builds furniture as a hobby in her garage. I started with butt joints and glue sticks. I had a few questions so I called her. She cringed when she saw it. She made a few suggestions, but I didn't have the tools, so she offered to help, I accepted, and away we went to her house.We pulled it all apart, and now we are doing "rabbet" and "dado" joints! It is sitting in her garage with a bunch of clamps, waiting for the glue to dry. How did I get so lucky?
I learned a lot and it only cost me her dinner.
Will post some photos once the glue has dried.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 05-16-2011

MarkSF is on a distinguished road
Sorry to post this AFTER you did the work but why don't you just install some bookshelf speakers?

Like these :

Amazon.com: Monitor Audio M1 Speaker (Black Oak Vinyl, Pair): Home Audio & Theater

There are cheaper options. I have a pair of Realistic Minimus 7s which sound fine. Lots of them on Ebay for $40 or so.

Matching drivers to cabinets is an art and any decent pair of bookshelf speakers will sound FAR better than what you are building.

Last edited by MarkSF; 05-16-2011 at 04:50 PM.