SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Hunter (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/hunter/)
-   -   Help unfurling an in mast furling mainsail on a 2008 Hunter 31 (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/hunter/102463-help-unfurling-mast-furling-mainsail-2008-hunter-31-a.html)

Jeff_sf1 08-12-2013 01:23 PM

Help unfurling an in mast furling mainsail on a 2008 Hunter 31

Hello Everyone,

I am new to sailing and recently had a terrible time on the water trying to unfurling an in mast furling mainsail on a 2008 Hunter 31 which jammed and I was not able to sail at all that day.

Could someone explain their technique for unfurling and furling the main? or let me know if I am doing something incorrect. The following is the procedure I thought was correct:

1) motor into the wind

2) leave the main sheet stopper closed, leave the main halyard stopper closed, leave the boom vang closed, leave the jib halyard closed.

3) open the outhaul and put one wrap around the winch, next open the furling in and out.

4) keep tension on the furling out line and pull the out haul until the sail is out

5) close the furling in and out, close the outhaul and then open the mainsheet stopper and sail to a close haul in order to unfurl the jib.

Any help, tips or explanation of the procedure would be greatly appreciated.

Vasco 08-12-2013 01:43 PM

Re: Help unfurling an in mast furling mainsail on a 2008 Hunter 31

Unfurling

Free mainsheet, boom vang, furling line.
Grind on outhaul while slowly easing the furling line

Furling

Free mainsheet, boom vang, outhaul. Keep tight hold on outhaul.
Grind on furling line while keeping good tension on outhaul.

Unfurling and furling best done head to wind, but as you get more experienced can be done in most points of sail if conditions are not too bad. Secret is in the furling. If furled improperly the sail will jam when you next deploy it.

Jeff_sf1 08-12-2013 02:05 PM