Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Hunter
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2008

victorias is on a distinguished road
winter store-mast up or down?

I am new to sailing, and my 27' Hunter which is on her 2nd year of on lake sailing in the NE, will be stored outside at a Marina. I am not sure if it is better to store her with her mast up (cheaper) or mast down. Her rigging seems to be in good shape.
Thanks for any advice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-27-2008

Brezzin is on a distinguished road
There are different opinions regarding this. So having done both I'll add mine. The yard likes them down for a couple of reasons. First of which is they can charge you for taking it down and putting it up. Secondly, the mast up creates windage that given the correct circumstances could topple the boat and damage nearby boats. So they charge you extra for more poppet's. Also being in NE you get Ice. So if you don't cover the boat you may get damage from falling ice from the rigging.

Ok now the pluses, It's less money for you. You don't have to fully re-tune the rig in the spring. Your mast and boat won't get beat up during the process.
A simple compromise I use is every other year, using the down year for inspections and repairs. With a 27 footer I won't hesitate to leave the mast up.
2007 Hunter 49
Old 08-28-2008
Sailor

Warren M. is on a distinguished road