SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   San Diego sailing (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/100984-san-diego-sailing.html)

Dan Diego 07-01-2013 05:13 PM

San Diego sailing

Hi all,
I am new to sailing but quickly learning and loving it. I have a 21' Santana trailer sailor. It is not much to look at but then again, neither am I. Just spent the weekend on the water and cannot wait to do it again. I am middle-aged guy with all of the aches and pains that go with it but the thought of fair winds and following seas makes it easy to grin and bear it. My biggest current challenge is to get my youngest son to go sailing with me again. I scared the snot of him the last time he sailed as a made some rookie mistakes. That however is a story for another day and thread. I am hopeful that sailing is something I will be able to share with my kids over time. I would be grateful if you have any thoughts or advice on getting kids excited about and fostering an interest in sailing. A longer term goal for me would be sailing blue water to some tropical paradise yet to be determined, most likely in a large cat if I have any chance of having my wife join me.

Cheers,
Dan Diego :D

billsull 07-01-2013 10:44 PM

Re: San Diego sailing

Hi Dan,