SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   New Sailor with Lots to Learn (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/101170-new-sailor-lots-learn.html)

Rossignols 07-08-2013 02:17 PM

New Sailor with Lots to Learn

I am new to sailing but have been reading these forums for about a year now as I take in as much knowledge as possible on my new found passion.

Took a basic sailing lesson at the end of last year and spent the winter waiting to sail. Have been sailing on J24ís (once or twice a week) in New York Harbor since May and really loving it. I learn something new each time out, and have been very fortunate to sail with some great skippers willing to share their knowledge.

Also considering buying something small like a sunfish or an escape that I can use on local lakes as well.

Really enjoying myself this summer and wish I had started sailing sooner! Thanks for all the great advise and info on the site.

Spray 07-09-2013 01:56 PM

Re: New Sailor with Lots to Learn

Right there with you Rossignols. I haven't taken any lessons, but I'm hoping with the help of this site and some how to sailing books, I won't be getting too wet! I'm sure you've already noticed, but it seems like everyone here has beaucoup knowledge....an excellent resouce.

Rossignols 07-09-2013 02:04 PM

Could not agree more! It has been increadibly helpfull over the past year and continues to be as I look for my first dinghy

Spray 07-09-2013 02:14 PM

I'm sure you already know, but if you're looking for a dinghy Craigslist Philly seemed pretty decent. I checked out that part before and it seems like it would be close to you. I don't know what others think of it, but it certainly seems CL has quite the variety.

jimgo 07-09-2013 03:33 PM

Welcome! There are a bunch of Sailnetters in your area. If my boat ever gets fixed, I hope to be out in Barnegat Bay. Hope to see you out there!