SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Author in research mode needs help (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/102630-author-research-mode-needs-help.html)

DeeB 08-16-2013 02:37 PM

Author in research mode needs help

Greetings to all real-life super-salty sailors out there.
I am in the exciting, excruciating, frustrating, sometimes dangerous but always fascinating process of writing a novel. I have a some experience boating but zero at sailing, although I'm working on that.
I am joining this forum in the hope of gathering accurate information for the plot and characters of my story. I am that kind of reader and movie watcher who can't abide nonsense unless it's comical, so as a writer I am particularly careful to get my facts right.
I will be posting questions in the next few weeks or months and will be unfathomably grateful for every helpful answer I get. I have an immense admiration for all of you who have turned sailing into a lifestyle and secretly hope to achieve as much one day.
Cheers

jameswilson29 08-16-2013 03:09 PM

Re: Author in research mode needs help

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeeB (Post 1074891)
I have an immense admiration for all of you who have turned sailing into a lifestyle and secretly hope to achieve as much one day.

You are definitely a fiction writer...:)

desert rat 08-16-2013 04:33 PM

Read the Annapolis book of seamanship by John Rousmaniere, and A voyage for
Madmen by Peter Nichols for language and perspective then ask some questions.

Jeff_H 08-16-2013 04:41 PM

Fire away! We all seem to like getting questions.... its only the answers that seem to turn into a school yard brawl.

By the way, you live in New Zealand for goodness sake. That is the land of serious sailor.

jimgo 08-16-2013 05:56 PM

Welcome! Looking forward to seeing the questions you ask, and to reading your book!

zeehag 08-16-2013 07:27 PM