Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2014

zzyxz973 is on a distinguished road
New to sailing in Maryland.

Hello Sailnetters - I'm new to sailing and looking forward to the experience. I've taken an intro to sailing course in the Baltimore Inner Harbor last fall and intend to take the subsequent keelboat course in the spring. I have recently purchased a 1988 Precision 21 and can't wait for spring to launch it. I plan to sail the boat in Assawoman and Isle of Wight Bay near Ocean City MD. These are shallow protected waters that I think will provide a good training area for me to develop sailing fundamentals.

Before I can launch my P21 I need to obtain an outboard motor for it. Research leads me to believe that a 5-6 hp outboard would do the job, but I would like to hear from those more experienced at sailing small sailboats what size motor might be best for a Precision 21. I know there's a balance to reach between hp and weight and that local tide, current and wind all effect how well the outboard will move the boat.

Also noticed a considerable difference between NADA values (low) for used outboards compared to asking prices (high) from recent classified ads. Any thoughts on this disparity.

Thanks to anyone who can help me with these questions about small outboards.

Tom - '88 Precision 21
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-11-2014
Asleep at the wheel

jimgo is on a distinguished road
Re: New to sailing in Maryland.