Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By MSN2Travelers
  • 1 Post By MSN2Travelers
  • 1 Post By gamayun

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2014

Švejk is on a distinguished road
N00b on deck

I've enjoyed reading the posts here and figured it may be time to venture out of lurk mode. I'm new to sailing - took a great course with my young son years ago in Annapolis and enjoyed the long weekend on the 24' rainbows but, as usual, life got in the way of me and the water.

With retirement looming the plan is .... wait for it ... to spend a couple weeks/months/<dare I say years?> doing the live aboard thing and enjoying some time exploring the eastern seaboard. I'll hold off on posts about what kind of bluewater boat to purchase for our impending circumnavigation for now.

Looking forward to learning as much as possible and not tripping over the lubber line.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-09-2014
Badger Sailor

MSN2Travelers is on a distinguished road
Wink Re: N00b on deck

Welcome to SailNet. Sailing is great fun, especially if you can do it regularly on somebody else's boat.

Learn to sail, research the cost of ownership for several different size boats and know that you will likely own a boat or two before you get that live-aboard.

I often tell people to compare boat ownership with owning a computer printer. It costs you money every time you use it, you are always looking to upgrade to the next model and you always have to worry about where you will store it when not using it.