SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

C&C 35 Mark 2

5K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  chef2sail 
#1 ·
Greetings,

I am new to the net. I am looking at a C&C35 Mark2 that has a modified keel (12" longer, overall draft 6' -8") and a taller mast (don't know how much).

The keel to hull joint is cracked and the seller says he has to bondo it each year to keep it smooth but it doesn't leak. Also, the rig has been modified as stated above and the shrouds go to one chain plate/hull bulkhead plate that has partly separated from the hull. [It looks like the original rig attache to two bulkheads beacause there are two about a foot apart under the deck rail. The hull is sunk in where this chainplate/bulkhead attaches to the hull.

Is the inside cabin deck liner supposed to be laminated to the core? It is unattached in most places although the deck doesn't seem spongy and tapping doesn't reveal soft spots except around one area around the shroud through deck plate.

Also, the standing rigging has mostly been converted to cable.

On a boat this old, is this typical? It seems the modifications would put more stress on the rig and hull, is this a problem?

See less See more
#2 ·
I would start with an un-modified Boat. What you are describing is major work to remedy even on a Boat operating as designed, there could and probably is more damage to the structure than you describe. I would walk away. There are so many nice old Boats out there looking for a new home you don't need to deal with all this. It is always recomended you pre-survey any Boat yourself and it looks like you have done a good job of that on this one.

#3 ·
I'd say this one's a 'walk away'...