SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hi All (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/42316-hi-all.html)

turfguy 04-16-2008 06:57 PM

Hi All

I have been coming in and reading posts for several months now and thought it was time I said hello. I am an avid boater for years, having been an AUXOP and safe boating Instructor member of the CGAUX for a few yrs up on the Delaware River and Barneget Bay in NJ. I learned how to sail almost 3 yrs ago and loved it from my first sail. I have taken the ASA courses and cant wait to get my own boat ASAP. I just need to sell or trade my home (see ad under For Sale-Trade Home) :)). Maybe I will get lucky here??
I know I have learned so much reading the posts here, love the liveaboard area best but all are informative.
Thanks for the many hours of enjoyment.

turfguy ( I trained racehorses for 25 yrs) hence the nickname.

Joe

Giulietta 04-16-2008 07:00 PM

Joe, welcome to sailnet.

I hope you stay around enough as we are a funny group of stiff upper lip bastards here..

PS are you aware that we need your photo?

jackytdunaway 04-16-2008 08:32 PM

Welcome. Great bunch of folks here eager to help and share vast knowledge. Just watch out for the Portugee. He lives in his parents basement and doesn't get out much. He pretents to have a real fast boat but if you look at all his pictures you can see it is a toy in a bathtub that he crops and pastes on pictures of the ocean.

turfguy 04-16-2008 08:39 PM

Thanks guys for the warm welcome. I dated a lady of Portugese decent for a couple yrs, so I do know about them. :)) Just kidding cause my only boat right now is in the bathtub too!! lol Hope to change that soon though. I am not sure about posting a picture though, hmmmmm of course I am single and maybe it might help? hehe

camaraderie 04-16-2008 08:44 PM