SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Tides and Currents freeware (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/42999-tides-currents-freeware.html)

anderbra 05-09-2008 12:56 AM

Tides and Currents freeware

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking in the background for awhile and learning how things work in the forums. By the standards I've seen, I'm a novice sailor, happy and proud owner of a Niagara 31.:D

In the past five years I've used a tides and currents freeware (wxtide32) on my previous computer. My new laptop (with sickening windows Vista), doesn't run the program. Does anyone know a Free/Shareware for tides that run on Vista?

Does anybody have a good input on the topic? I appreciate any suggestions.

artbyjody 05-09-2008 02:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anderbra (Post 311690)
Hi everyone,

I've been lurking in the background for awhile and learning how things work in the forums. By the standards I've seen, I'm a novice sailor, happy and proud owner of a Niagara 31.:D

In the past five years I've used a tides and currents freeware (wxtide32) on my previous computer. My new laptop (with sickening windows Vista), doesn't run the program. Does anyone know a Free/Shareware for tides that run on Vista?

Does anybody have a good input on the topic? I appreciate any suggestions.

You can actually run it by setting the shortcut properties to run : "legacy mode".. and that will get you through the crunch

anderbra 05-14-2008 12:40 AM

Thank you for the reply Jody.
The "legacy mode" you mention, is it a set up in Vista?

artbyjody 05-14-2008 12:48 AM

4 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by anderbra (Post 314173)
Thank you for the reply Jody.
The "legacy mode" you mention, is it a set up in Vista?