SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Would love to be sailing in Seattle (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/43189-would-love-sailing-seattle.html)

SeattleSail 05-15-2008 04:47 PM

Would love to be sailing in Seattle

Hi,
I'm looking at buying a boat and have been cruising the forums for information when I had a thought "maybe I could find sailors who would like someone to crew around Seattle". I'm a librarian at the Seattle Public Library, have sailed some and own a small (14') sloop that I have dry docked at the Leschi marina. But I'm truly wanting to sail bigger, faster, more challenging boats. I only work part time so I have lots of free time during the week and every other weekend.
I'm happy to bring snacks and can make conversation with the best of 'em.
I'm really interested in learning how to chart a course, handle the mechanics of trailering (or not), learning how to maintain the boat and sails. My goal at this point is to be able to gunkhole in the San Juans and Gulf Islands and then who knows...
So, if anyone would like an extra hand for daysailing let me know.
I'm currently looking at boats in the 18-21' range, some trailerables and a couple with moorage (very difficult to find). If you have a boat you'd like to share, I might be interested in that as well.

artbyjody 05-16-2008 12:13 AM

Welcome to Sailnet. I am based out of Elliott Bay Marina - Usually I am on the boat if a project doesn't require me elsewhere. I sent you a email through the profile deal with contact information if you are interested. I'll be daysailing on Sat and Sun if interested..you are more than welcome to come along...

djodenda 05-16-2008 09:50 AM

Welcome to Sailnet!

You posted about 10 hours too late. You missed last nights dinner cruise. It was almost... warm!