SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

RickD - N0NJY - Hiya (Ham Radio Operator)

2K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  N0NJY 
#1 · (Edited)
My name is Rick Donaldson.

Call sign is N0NJY (that's a Zero there) and I'm an Amateur Extra Class License holder (ham radio operator).

I wandered in since I was invited over from another site.

Wife and I are new to sailing - and are in the process of purchasing a used boat, a Venture 25.

The boat is not-yet-named, but will be this spring in an "official" (read: Traditional) ceremony. We live in Land-Locked Colorado Springs and hope to be out on the ocean within 3-4 years (not with the boat we're buying).

This boat is our "learning boat". We'll be attending some ASA basic courses this spring, sailing around the same time and naming the boat right after we put her in the water again.

I'm here for advice, information and education.

I'm also here to help you folks.

I have over 40 years of experience in HF radio systems (as well as VHF, UHF and many other systems). I was in the Air Force for twenty-six years, retired in 2002 officially. I was in the active side for 14 years - during which I served in Combat Communications for five years and the White House Communications Agency for eight years providing Presidential Communications for Presidents Reagan, Bush and former Presidents Nixon, Ford, and Carter and several of the First Ladies. I've traveled all over the world - 45 countries now, almost every state in the US and about 300 major cities world-wide.

My last twelve years of military service were in the USAF Reserves and they shared me with a local college where I taught basic and advanced electronic theory, as well as digital theory.