Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2009

CaptainZac is on a distinguished road
New To Sailing

Ahoy Sailors, My name is Zac and I am a college student in Clemson, S.C. I was wanting to buy a boat to sail on the weekends through the Summer. I would mostly be sailing around in a lake (Lake Jocassee). Now I have been on a bass boat once or twice, but that's about it. I somewhat understand the mechanics of a sailboat... you have your hull, your sails, your rudder, your keel, etc. Other than that I am completely clueless. I plan on reading more books if I decide to buy a boat. So with that in mind would I be crazy to by a sailboat? (Not having any experience and no one to teach me).

The boat that I am looking at is a late 70s model Hunter 25 for $4000. I could come up with $4000 but I wouldn't want to pour money into it for maintenance. Would I be buying a timebomb? All that really matters to me is that it floats but I'm sure there could be hidden cost that I'm not seeing.

I'm a quick learner and really "tough." In other words, I'm not afraid of a challenge and my first sailing expeditions don't have to be as easygoing and luxurious as a walk in the park. Wise advice is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-01-2009
Anything-Sailing Founder

ckgreenman will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to ckgreenman Send a message via MSN to ckgreenman Send a message via Yahoo to ckgreenman
Welcome to Sailnet.