Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2009
Bender of Nails

Deadeye is on a distinguished road
New guy

Hey all,

I'm a carpenter in western Canada who's been building boats professionally for about 10 years. The market here is mainly powerboats but my own passion is for sailing.

A long time time ago, I got the sailing bug after reading some of the Pardeys' and the Smeetons' books. Right from day one in a crusty old Sunfish that I rescued from rotting to death in a backyard, I worked the bagged-out sail pretty hard with the knowledge it would lead to an eventual lifestyle.

My wife and I are now at an enviable stage of our lives...we are looking to liveaboard and cruise while still young enough to enjoy it. Everything seems to be falling into place vis-a-vis work, home life, family, etc. so it's time to start cutting some wood.

I see myself haunting the boards looking for suggestions and advice from those who have 'been there, done that' as well as to probe the imaginations of those of you who have thought about cruising but haven't taken the plunge.

My own sailing experience comes from sailing that old Sunfish that I wish I still had, through small keelboats right up to 41' bleach bottles. While definitely no expert, I know enough to know when it's time to ease the main and let 'er settle down, lol. My focus has never been competitive sailing, though I do see the advantage to one's learning curve - I'm more of a Jimmy Buffet really...

There's a bunch of stuff I'm looking to kick around, but I'll save it for other threads. If any of my own experience can be of help, it's yours.

Cheers!

Last edited by Deadeye; 01-08-2009 at 09:23 AM.