Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2009

NickPapagiorgio is on a distinguished road
Chesapeake Bay sailor here...

Hello all...

I am a bit of an amateur. I first sailed on the Whitsunday Islands in Australia back in 2001 while studying abroad. I took a class that organized various weekend trips which included rock climbing, kayaking, and sailing. My class chartered about six boats and we set out for three days of sailing. I fell in love almost immediately and planned to pursue sailing once I returned home.

After I arrived home, I finished my undergraduate degree and began law school. It wasn't until about my second year of law school that I had the notion to charter a boat for a weekend with a couple of friends. I began looking down the Jersey shore but there wasn't a whole lot available. Eventually I stumbled upon the Chesapeake Bay and realized that one of the greatest sailing destinations in the world was less than an hour from my house.

I contacted a couple of charter companies but my lack of experience kept coming up. I was confident that the three days of sailing I had done three years prior was enough to keep me and my crew safe on the water (hindsight is 20/20). Finally I landed on Baysail, which is a great little charter company out of Harve de Grace, MD. They insisted that I be certified up to at least ASA 103, but agreed to let me "test out of" ASA 101.

My first day on the water with the instructor for my test-out was a bit overwhelming. I realized in the first five minutes that I didn't have nearly enough experience to safely handle a boat on my own, let alone a 34' or 36' boat, like I had planned on chartering.