Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2009

lenlap is on a distinguished road

Hello to all. It has been said this is the place to go for sailing questions/answers. I am new to sailing. Very little experience. Have been offered a 24 foot Seafarer. Built in 75. Any advice? Good for beginners?
$ 2,000 with trailer.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-05-2009
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Hi Len and welcome aboard. The 24 Seafarer will be a fine boat to learn on in relatively protected waters provided she is in decent condition. Here's some info on the boat:
The Seafarer 24
Old 02-08-2009

Can you tell me what class the Seafarer falls into? Would you comment on the price I mentioned? Is it at all fast? As if that should be a concern of mine at this point...
Old 02-08-2009

Thank you so much for responding by the way...
Old 02-08-2009
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
I'm not sure what you mean by what class. She is a moderately heavy boat for her size and fairly stable and I would say a decent performer under sail but nothing even close to a real racer. Build quality is moderate and the $2k price with a trailer is excellent if the boat is in good condition. If it is not...you could easily spend far more than the boat is worth making her right...so get someone knowledgeable to look her over for you. At the price...a full survey is probably not in the cards for you so give a careful read to this thread before you lay your money down.