Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2009

sailcougar is on a distinguished road
gennaker rigging and jibe

I have a Hunter 42 center cockpit. The boat came with a gennaker and I am new at this. I rigged the gennaker with an adjustable tack line and ran the sheets around the outside (forward of bow) of my boat. I have looked at several pictures on rigging and they all show the sheets passing between the forestay and the tack line. I do not understand how I can complete a successful jibe like that. I did complete a successful jibe rigged as I said. If the gennaker moves past he front of the boat, it seems like the sheet would get twisted if routed between the forestay and the tack. My method could have issues as it would allow the sheet to fall in front and below the bow, consequently getting hung up under the boat. Can anyone explain the proper rigging, and what should happen through the jibe?
Happy Sailing
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-15-2009

jackdale will become famous soon enough
It depends

The outside gybe works with a spinnaker halyard that is mounted above the forestay. If you gybe inside with this setup you will foul the halyard on the forestay.
The inside gybe works works with a halyard (usually a spare jib halyard) mounted below the the forestay. If you gybe outside with this setup you will foul the halyard on the forestay.

I have tried on outside gybe with a jib halyard. Not pretty.

Jack
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor
As I sail, I praise God, and care not. (Luke Foxe)
Old 07-15-2009
Old as Dirt!

svHyLyte is on a distinguished road