Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2009

philngrvn is on a distinguished road
Realizing a dream

I've been dreaming about buying a sailboat for many many years and finally this last spring I bought a 79 Hunter 25. I was purchasing it from a marina that was more then 60 miles from where I was going to keep it. I'd been reading sailing books forever but I'd never sailed a day in my life. Before I bought the boat I put an ad on craigslist asking if anyone could show me the rope's (I mean lines) so I could sail it to it's new home port. I couldn't believe the responses I got from all kinds of people wanting to help me and offering to go with me to pick up my boat. I thought this is amazing that all these people I don't even know would help me out like this. I soon came to realize the addiction that is sailing and all addicts out there who would do just about anything or find any excuse just to get on a boat.

Needless to say I found a great teacher who showed me enough to get me started and from there I've become an addict myself. I got the boat to the new slip that I try to keep her out of as much as my job will allow me. I've only been sailing for 8 months now but I know this is something I plan to do for the rest of my life. When I'm on the boat it's like a whole new world where all the stresses and worries of my regular life dissappear. My only regret is that I didn't get a boat sooner.

I'm glad to be a part of the club and I wish you all nothing but good winds and may the currents be always in your favor.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-15-2009
Just another Moderator