SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hello, all (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/62108-hello-all.html)

Knotaclu 02-17-2010 08:09 PM

Hello, all

As the name implies, I am somewhat new to sailing. Mind you, I'm not new to boats or the water. Just new to sailing. I have a great teacher who spent a fair part of his life racing sailboats.

So last year I bought a Grampian 23 that seems to be in fairly good condition. My teacher and I have been out on the Chesapeake, and I've already mastered several tough maneuvers (like the knockdown and the pirouette). In particular, I learned that I have a very shrill scream.

Anyway, I just wanted to stop by and say hello to all my future buds and to let you know that if you see a G23 coming at you with an old guy screaming like a school girl, it may be best to just cut anchor and run. Steering and stopping are still a couple of my weak points.

SecondWindNC 02-17-2010 08:19 PM

:laugher

Nice!

And welcome!

smackdaddy 02-17-2010 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Knotaclu (Post 571143)
I learned that I have a very shrill scream.

Hey knota, welcome to SN dude. I too don't know what I'm doing and scream like a school girl when I'm doing pirouettes.

You'll like this place and will learn a hell of a lot.

Knotaclu 02-17-2010 09:18 PM

Thanks for the welcome, folks. I've enjoyed SN as an eavesdropper for a while and look forward to getting in the mix. I don't really have a lot to offer, but maybe it would be good if I post my GPS coordinates from time to time. That might help save a lot of boats.

summitheart 02-17-2010 11:50 PM

another newbe

I haven't even been out on our boat yet.
I will let you know what my scream sounds like when I do.

Spent the last 8 months just checking on it from time to time, cleaning, fixing, winterizing, cleaning, fixing...
It is a 26 ft Rawson - and is a learner.