Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2010

SirRealism is on a distinguished road
Landlocked newb considering liveaboard

Hello!

I'm a relative newb to sailing. Just a bit of daysailing here and there, but I have never owned a sailboat... yet. Last year, I took ASA courses 101, 103, and 104 aboard a Person 39 in the San Juan Islands, with the hopes of doing some bareboat chartering vacations. I enjoyed it as much as I feared I would.

Now I'm actually beginning to do some research on the possibility of buying a boat and living aboard full-time. I need a change of scenery, and I'm at a great point in my life for it. Now to see what's possible...

I'm looking forward to poking around here on sailnet and learning as much as possible.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-02-2010

AdamLein will become famous soon enough
Welcome aboard and best of luck! I'm in that area and it's a great place to build up sailing experience and learn the important lessons, like, if you're going to live aboard, don't do it here

Hope things go your way.
Old 03-04-2010

RealityCheck is on a distinguished road
The big question is what do you mean by Live aboard..... Are you going to use the boat primarily as a house which you may occasionally take out or one you will be cruising in full time and using it as a house and your primary vehicle? Answer to that will drive most of your questions one way or the other.

I personally agree with the initial reply.... don't think I would care much for doing a live aboard in that area! TOOOO damn cold and wet for me! But I love da islands Mon!
Old 03-04-2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealityCheck View Post