Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2010

HOODWINKED is on a distinguished road
a Newbie has arrived.

Hello everyone.
I have just sailed in my 3rd race.
Intimidating at first, and very happyto having had no collisions, finishing, & no on shouted at me.
Im still learning to get the terms right and my crew are fabulous. We crewed together on on yachts and really click on this Hood 23.
We all just want to be competitive, finish to the best we can on the day.
The boys have a real problem with the Mainsail Halyard.
Its an interal fitting that exits at the base (starboard) runs back up to a large cleat.
One fellow does a wrap the other cranks it on from the base.
We never achieve a properly cranked on Main. Always needing to take out the flap with the cunningham.
I wonder if its possible to transfer this tension to an organiser and run the halyard back to the cockpit to use a jib winch there or run it through a Jammer. Any comment would be most welcome.
Do I need a shipwright to beef up the decking to accomodate the block organiser and jammer?.
Would this sideway base tension create a problem?
The yacht I have is a Hood 23' circa age mid to late 70's.
Its been a regular race winner before I bought it.
I intend it to happen again in the future,
I am so glad to have found this forum.
regards,
Mike
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-22-2010
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Welcome to the site! it's real easy to route the Main halyard to the cockpit. On a 23 ft boat it's hard to believe you need muscle to raise it though. Maybe something is binding or not sliding.