Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2010

landluber is on a distinguished road
Need Some Sailing Advice For A Cruise

Hello All,

I am a retired school teacher from Missouri, male, 65 years old, fairly good shape for my age.....and I am interested in cruising from Chicago down the Mississippi to the Gulf of Mexico to Florida waters in a 30 ft sailboat equipped with a reliable Yanmar engine.

I would like to know the specific route...leaving from a mooring near Chicago on Lake Michigan and getting into the river system to the Mississippi then on down to New Orleans, and out into the Gulf of Mexico.

I do not have a whole lot of sailing experience, and would have to rely upon getting a small crew of experienced sailor to teach me along the way but that should not be too great a problem as long as I provided, the transportation, and perhaps the food and grog along the way.....that way by the time we got to the Gulf I would perhaps be fairly well versed on how to run this sailboat.

And the boat is an up to date 1980's single masted Hunter with a fixed keel - model sleeping 4 or 5 with a good reliable Yanmar diesel engine.

Any information would be greatly appreceiated.

Thanks, Steve in Missouri
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-02-2010

MARC2012 is on a distinguished road
There are several posts here & cruisers forum on sailing/transiting ms river.Most of us find it somewhere between foolish & suicidal.Keep in mind the oil spill in the gulf just s of nola.marc
Old 06-02-2010

Proposed Cruise Down The Mississippi

Mark,