Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2010
Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da :)

Sixpoint is on a distinguished road
Another newb checking in :)

Well then, I guess I should introduce myself.

I don't even own a boat currently; I have never owned a sailboat. I do frequently operate a powerboat, but that's for work - a 21' aluminum, center console rescue boat. And I'm not exactly an old hand at that, even.

I have been a law enforcement Park Ranger since 2007, which is when I started the boat operating phase of my career. Before that I was a plain old cop - a Deputy Sheriff - for...let's see...must have been about 1,000 years. Or maybe it was seven, but who's counting? (My username actually goes back to when I was a Deputy, the Six pointed badge.)

To sort of change topics here, and to make a long story short (I know, too late), my wife has been passionate about sailing for many years; for at least the fifteen years that we've been together. For some reason, she finally infected me with the sailing bug about a year ago.

I've been reading voraciously on the subject ever since, and letting myself daydream a bit (okay, a really really lot) about what it's going to feel like the first time I get wind in my sails.

(I've also been lurking on a number of forums, but I have only recently decided to join one, and this one seemed to have the best folks on it, so it was my choice. Man, there's a lot of info to be had here. Good job, all.)

We plan to retire to a boat - probably a catamaran in the mid-40' range.

In the meantime, since retirement is still approximately ten years in our future, we are planning to get a trailer sailer and hit some inland waters.