SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Hopefully not biting off more than he can chew!

971 views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  optikul81 
#1 · (Edited)
Ok first of all.. my name is Chris and I am stationed at the Bangor Sub Base near Silverdale, Washington. I know as you read the following you are probably going to have one of those thoughts "Are you crazy!?" but you'll have to read the whole thing to understand ( I hope.. or I really am crazy! )

Ok first of all, I have a lot of experience sailing when I was younger. My Dad owned a small hunter sailboat ( I dont remember the exact size but it was small enough to fit on a trailer ). We used to do over night trips to Sucia Island from our homeport of Blaine, WA. Fast forward and now i'm living in Silverdale, WA currently serving in the Navy. Which by the way doesn't make me a pro at sailing. However my job in the Navy is navigation so in that respect i'm pretty good :D

The situation.. how to start. I am actually serving a 12 month tour in Iraq. And I live in a small two person room called a CHU (aka trailer divided into rooms). I am SOO ready to have my own place when I get back to the states but don't have the money to buy a house and renting right now just seems like a waste of money. So I started looking into liveaboard vessels when I came across a 1971 Coronado 35.