Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2010
Landlocked Member

richeperkin is on a distinguished road
I might be crazy, but. . .

About six weeks ago I had a revelation. I don't want to live in Las Vegas any more, in my 3-bedroom condo, working for one of the shows on the strip.

Actually, I've known that for a while. About five of the six years I've lived here I've known it. I want to be a writer, and go wherever I feel like, and I've been working on that for a couple of years now. What I realized mid-August is that I want to live on a boat.

I did a bit of sailing when I was about twelve, on a small lake in southern England somewhere. Once a week for about twelve weeks we went out, and more often and not tried to capsize 16' boats that were almost uncapsizable. I also rented a 42' Catalina for my 24th Birthday and bummed around Tortola for the day with 11 friends. That's about all the sailing experience I have.

I worked on cruise ships for three years (in the theatre), and being in the desert is tough. I miss the ocean, the feel of the waves, and the fact that every sunrise and sunset has the same backdrop.

I'm giving myself five years to publish, save up the cash, and make the move to living on my own boat (I'm fixated on 42' Catalina's right now). I'm just on here for advice, or to be slapped back to reality, or encouraged, and just to find out what I'm getting myself in to.

So hi, this is me introducing myself!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-27-2010

Matvolver is on a distinguished road