Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2010

dangc2000 is on a distinguished road
Use of Spinnaker-San Juan 24

Hi Members. I am fairly new to sailing and have had my SJ 24( San Juan 24 ) for 9 months. I
usually sail single-handed and have learned alot this last summer and have just
had a blast with this boat....my wife still hears me mumbling as I walk around
the house "luff, front end; leech, back ", so can see were I'm at.

Anyway, I now want to venture out to use the spinnaker for the first time. I
have both symmetrical and asymmetrical spinnakers. Is one of them easier to
learn with? Are they rigged the same? Can someone walk me thru the setup and use
of the spinnaker?? The boat seems to be equipped quite well so I'm sure all the
gear/lines are there but just don't know what to do with it. Thanks for the
help.

Dan
RoundAbout hull # 614
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-23-2010
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
It sounds like you're well equipped...

The Asymm will be easier to deal with by yourself, if only because there's no pole to contend with during gybes. It will still be a handful and alone you'll need to watch your wind threshold because these boats can get a bit twitchy in a breeze, though the higher sailing angles with the A sail will help there too.