Boatstruck in Idaho - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-12-2010 Thread Starter
Boatstruck in Idaho

I am new to sailing and to posting in an internet forum, I have crewed a bit for a friend in seattle and have spent a little time around wooden boats, I have recently moved to Idaho (smart move for an aspiring sailor I feel).

My dream is to use my time here in Idaho to build a wooden sailboat capable of offshore cruising and long distance passages.

I have been pouring over various plans and have come up with the idea of starting in on an Amigo 22' offshore pocket cruiser by Glen L Designs.
I am not a shipwright by any means but I do have a working brain and body, patience, as well as time and enough money to steadily chip away at a project of this scale.

I would welcome any feedback from seasoned salts!

Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 12-13-2010
You can do it, if you are patient and persistent. Even a 22' boat will take a few years of part time work. I have built some small boats, but bought more. There are forums for boatbuilding, I think Glen-L has one. There are also Woodenboat, and Duckworks. Do a search. There are a few wood boat owners and builders on this forum too. An old adage suggests building the dinghy first, to get an idea how long it takes, and understand the operations.
I look forward to hearing about your progress.
post #3 of 3 Old 12-18-2010