SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hi from Brisbane (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/72251-hi-brisbane.html)

In2TheBlue 02-22-2011 02:21 AM

Hi from Brisbane

I bet there are a 100 intro posts that all read the same :)

Hi , i'm 39, and recently realised I've been living the wrong dream.

Now actively pursuing the learning path, and like others I'm new to sailing, but not new to boats, weather, swells, tides, sharks, dragging at anchor, navigational errors, running out of water, capsizing or hitting sandbanks at speed :o .

I've been reading with interest the threads of other members who have gone through and scaled back land based life and began to live aboard...talk about addictive reading.

I live in Brisbane, on the east coast of Australia. Not sure how many aussies are on this board, hopefully there are a few that may help with local knoweldge and cruising tips further down the track

anyway - I'll try to refrain from posting stupid questions (for a little while at least) and continue reading up for my first sailing lesson, which is only two weeks away

cheers...Jas

tdw 02-22-2011 02:33 PM

Oh man...if every newb refrained from asking stupid questions where would we be ? The place would be an online ghost town. We feed on your stupid questions, they are our meat and three veg, the grist that powers our mill. :p

Anywho...if you don't ask stupid questions how can we give ever more inane replies ?

Ha...so welcome to SailNet. Please fire away , at will. In reality the natives are quite friendly. :)

In2TheBlue 02-25-2011 04:00 AM

thanks mate, good to get at least 1 welcome :rolleyes:

St Anna 02-25-2011 04:28 AM

Hiya In2the blue,
Welcome to SN
I am in BrisVegas currently ( and most likely will be for a long while)
Keep us posted.

chall03 02-25-2011 04:45 AM

Hey In2theBlue,