Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2011

Ld00d is on a distinguished road
Noob in San Diego

Just joined the forum and I'm new to sailing. Started taking a basic sailing class on a sabot last weekend in Mission Bay.

My goal is to (eventually) get/rent a small family cruiser and maybe beat up north or out to Catalina with the wife and two small kids.

Anyway, any tips on the best way to learn and the best options for chartering or mooring or whatever that anyone has would be appreciated.

Also, thanks to those who have posted the articles. All of the stuff I've read on here has been extremely informative.

One more thing. I read somewhere of "SD's boat buying checklist", but I can't find it anywhere. If someone has a link, that'd be awesome.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-07-2011
grumpy old man

bobperry will become famous soon enough
LD:
The best advice I could give you would be to start small. Learn in a boat that will quickly reward your efforts and quickly let you know when you are doing it wrong. This probably means a centerboard dinghy of some type or maybe a small keel boat like the Schock 20. There are a number of small keelboats in So Cal that would work for you. With a small keelboat you will not have to worry about teaching your kids how to swim while you learn how to sail.

Enjoy the adventure and get back to us on your progress.

PS
Tell your kids you love them everyday.
Old 05-08-2011

MikeinLA is on a distinguished road