Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2011

biohead is on a distinguished road
New to SN and first time boat owner (Catalina 27)

Greetings All,
I have been lurking and learning for a while and decided it's time to open up.
I have been sailing for about 12 years mostly on small boats borrowed from the club, school or friend. I have had the vision of living aboard for a long time and hope one day to have that opportunity. I know there is a lot I don't know and need to experience first hand. I didn't want to learn the the hard way with an expensive cruiser so I started looking for a low cost "training boat" to cut my teeth on. I took the plunge this past December and purchased a 1980 Catalina 27 in New York. She was neglected but somewhat OK condition, a lot better off than some others I have seen. The PO did a lot of creative woodworking on the interior and changed all the upholstery to leather. I wish he spent more time on maintenance....guess that's why the price was so low.
A little bit of karma regarding the boat makes me feel good about the choice....the marina where the boat was docked is in New York City. In that area almost all the boats are stored dry during the winter so my little Catalina was the only boat in the marina. The staff there referred to her as the "Webelos", like a cub scout in training. I thought it fit pretty well with my plans so I decided to keep the name.