Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you. NEW!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2011

Foxsea is on a distinguished road
Lewmar winch

Hi,
I have never used a forum before and now find myself needing some advice. I own a Catalina 30. My husband recently passed away and I now find myself having to take care of this boat myself. Of course, this being the first year I have had to deal---all sorts of little things are going wrong. First race of the season and a winch went "poof". It is the one used for hoisting the main, some one has looked at it and says it can't be fixed, he has never seen one break like that. Don't know what like that is. Any way I need a Lewmar #7 for the deck, new or used (used is preferable). Can anyone tell me where to begin looking?
Thanks so much.
Lyn
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-05-2011

WanderingStar is on a distinguished road
Lyn, sorry for your loss. Sailing and maintenance can be frustrating, but ultimately rewarding. My boat is 43 years old, every time I fix something I see two more thngs to fix. You can surely find the winch on ebay, or look for marine consignment stores. There are good ones on Long Island, in Connecticut and Rhode Island, Florida too. Probably more. You might also look for a good used copy of Calder's "Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Guide". It's a great general sailboat maintenance reference.
Old 06-05-2011
kcbillb

kcbillb2 is on a distinguished road
Lewmar winch

Hi Lyn,

With others, very sorry for your loss.

As far as your winch goes, I'm going to just guess and say that the interior pawls and springs have gone. A winch consists of a few gears and the pawls/springs.