Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2011

petey256 is on a distinguished road
Evans 16 owner

Hi, My name is Mike and I recently purchased an Evans 16 sailboat, supposedly built by Whitby. I am new to sailing and am searching for information about my boat, the builder and other owners. I started a yahoo group today and posted some pics of my boat. The users group is a yahoo group called Evans16. I can not post the link as I am a new member today and am not allowed to. I would apperciate any info and or help about this boat. I am looking for help with the rigging. I did not take these photos the previous owner did and I can really tell how the boom vang is rigged ( such as where it starts and ends as well as where it is tied off. I dont evan know if this is rigged correctly. I have been out sailing 2 or 3 times on different boats with different people for short pierods of time. I found I liked it and want to sail myself. I am 56 years old and live in Jacksonville Florida so I have access to the St johns river as well as some lakes such as Doctors lake and also the Ortega River.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-03-2011

amcnewman is on a distinguished road
Congratulations on the purchase of your new boat. I have had an Evans 16 for 5 years and love it. The boat sails like a bigger boat. I sail on Lake Ontario very comfortably. When you say boom vang I assume you mean main sheet. I will take a picture of mine and post it. I joined your Yahoo group and saw a picture of your main sheet and yes it is a little backwards.

Last edited by amcnewman; 07-03-2011 at 02:32 PM.
Old 07-03-2011

Main Sheet

Here is my main sheet.