Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2011
Much to learn...

Capt-T is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to Capt-T
Smile Introduction

I'm new to SailNet... been lurking for a few days reading as many of the threads as I can, since I'm considering getting back into Sailing. I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself...

First, a little background... 44 y/o male, married, 4 children... my introduction to sailing was in Grad School in Madison, WI. Sailing in the summers (2) on their Tech Dinghys... mostly recreational, but did work up to the Sunday races on a few occasions and loved it. For most of the last 20 years, I've been landlocked in central Minnesota working too much and playing too little. Over the years, I've day-sailed a few times in the Keys or Caribbean or on a friends 28' hunter in MN, but that's about it... I absolutely LOVE sailing when I can get the chance.

I realize I have MUCH to learn, and I'm signed up for my Bareboat cruising certification on Lake Superior in 2 weeks. Even convinced my wife (hopefully soon to be Admiral) to take the class with me. She enjoys sailing... but as she says, what she enjoys most about it is "sitting back enjoying the sun and having one of the crew keep my [her] champagne glass filled". The class is 3 days/nights and we sleep on board (port 2 nights, anchor 1 night). I'm told the class will go on no matter the weather unless it's so bad that there are warnings against sailing. I'm a bit worried about this because I know she will hate me if the weather is bad... might even be a quick end to a dream.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-15-2011
A mod and her dragon