Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2011

bert's_oyster is on a distinguished road
New to Sailing - thinking of a Sense 50

Hello everyone,

I am somewhat new to sailing - I have been sailing as a guest and recently as crew but have never owned a boat. I am 60 and am thinking of buying a Sense 50. My wife and I would be the captn and crew so single-handed sailing capability would be important. Some people I have spoken to think I am crazy and others say that there should be no problem with the proper preparation and at least a one week sail and learn cruise with an instructor. I have completed a coastal navigation course and have my power craft operators card. My rationalization is based on an analogy - if my father had taught me to drive a transport truck rather than a car when I was sixteen there would be no fear of a big truck - so most of the cautionary comments have come from sailors that have moved up from a 25 ft boat to a 35 - hence my analogy above. Notwithstanding my view, I would appreciate any opinions and comments.

Thanks
John
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-15-2011
I don't discuss my member

zz4gta is on a distinguished road
Absolutley a perfect first boat. Have fun.
Old 08-15-2011
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road
Welcome to Sailnet.

A 50 foot boat is quite a lot of boat to singlehand. It's also a lot of boat for a novice sailor and a novice sailor to singlehand.

Your big truck analogy is interesting and somewhat scary.