Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2011

Beaverkill is on a distinguished road
Sailing Greenhorn...

Sailing has been high on my bucket list for a Looong time and I am now ready to start my voyage….Let me introduce myself, I am a 44 yo, married with 3 young children. I grew up along the New Jersey shore (Manasquan/Wall) but moved away 10 years ago…We are moving back to be close to our families. In my youth, I was a mate on charter/party fishing boats and have owned small fishing boats (19 and 26ft) in the past. The only boats I have owned since 1992 has been a canoe and Mackenzie drift boat. I am a part-time fly fishing instructor/guide but need an activity that the wife and family can enjoy away from fishing…Sailing seems like an excellent choice…..I have started by buying a book, Sailing Fundamentals by Gary Jobson, and plan to take some lessons along with my wife in the future…Once we sell the house and move (which may take almost a year in this housing market), we plan to buy a boat that will fit our family needs…Until then, I am continuing to research and learn as much as I can about the sport…I hope that the Sailnet community will be a great resource throughout my sailing days… Any advice is appreciated…Thank you and look forward to interacting with the community… Dan

Last edited by Beaverkill; 08-23-2011 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-23-2011
Crotchety Old Member

tomperanteau is on a distinguished road
Divorce the wife, sell the kids, buy a boat.