SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

hi

1K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  CalebD 
#1 ·
This is my first post so please bear with me. I am new to sailing and have absolutly zero time on a sailboat!!!That being said i am going to take a asa sailing course this fall or winter. My goel is to buy a sail boat next spring. I would like to buy something new and hopefully grow into to it. I plan on living on the boat for the summer and go from there. I live in ma. and plan on living on the cape. Any sugustion will be helpful.

#2 ·
Welcome to Sailnet!

Vette as in Corvette? If you like speed, sailing is not going to give it to you unless you get into multihulls. :D

Good luck with your ASA course. In the meantime, lurk, read, ask questions.

#5 ·
Monos can give a great sensation of speed. I invited my brother sailing 20 years ago. When we returned he said he thought it would be boring. He never knew that 6-7 mph could be so fun. With the rail nearly down to the water, and you're on the winch gives a great sensation of power, and speed.

Vette admirer huh;)? I am more of a Shelby guy as in AC old school 1962. Never owned a CSX, but I did own a Tiger for 8 years in my youth.....i2f

Attachments

#8 ·
Vette: do consider buying a "first" boat to learn with. There are plenty if wonderful, somewhat older, pocket cruisers to be had for ~3K to ~6K in decent usable condition. We bought a Catalina 22 last May - our first boat as novice sailors - and have really enjoyed it. We're still novice sailors but we're getting better with each outing. Our approach - buy now, then figure it out - was uncharacteristically impulsive for me, but has worked out great. Our learnings are immediately applied on our own boat, which helps reinforce the lesson.