SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Help wanted please :)

915 views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  PCP 
#1 ·
Hey, my names Chloe. I'm currently in my second year at Plymouth University studying Product Design. Our current project is to design a electronic device thats viable, feasible and desirable.

I am interested in designing something for the marine industry [as my dad has a Westerly] and my initial idea at the moment is to design a unit that could be fitted to the deck of a boat incorporating AIS, and man overboard tags with live tracking - for when a crew member falls over board an alarm is set off but unlike other devices out there every few minutes it sends out a their position making it easier to rescue.

I am interested in some feedback of this idea, would this be something anyone would be interested in? Or is there anything people would like in a single unit? Any feedback would be appreciated

Thank you for your time. Chloe

#3 ·
Thank you.

I would like to combine whats currently out there with MOB devices. I dont think there is out there a MOB system that has both GPS and AIS linked so it displays on the AIS screen, then all boats with AIS systems will be able to join in the search.

Although I know AIS is only currently used on commercial boats, I think this is something that could become more popular on pleasure boats...

#4 · (Edited)
Thank you.

Although I know AIS is only currently used on commercial boats, I think this is something that could become more popular on pleasure boats...
Yes I agree and AIS signal senders are inexpensive and small. It seems a good idea to me providing you can maintain the price down.