Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Welcome to Sailnet > Introduce Yourself
 Not a Member? 

Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2012

Mattmm is on a distinguished road
Powercruiser about to convert

Hello all. I've been boating for a couple years now. I currently own a bayliner saratoga 2550 command bridge. I rebuilt her completely, structurally and cosmetically from the ground up. She is about a year and 5k away from being what i can call complete or sellable. I have friended a few sailors last summer and i thought i had caught the bug. After this years visit to the boat show I'm convinced its nearing the time to take up sailing.
For now I'd like to learn as much as i can about sailing so that im not caught offguard when i make the inevitable purchase. It will be around 40' possibly a ketch. feel free to talk me down. it wouldnt be the first time id be called nuts for starting with something so big.

Thanks to everyone for reading
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 02-04-2012

Lake Superior Sailor is on a distinguished road
Kool! We need more sail out there! Where you sailing from? I've always wanted a 40 Cal flattop settled for a 28, But; Who really knows....Dale
Where God got it done!
Old 02-04-2012
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough
Meanwhile you might get some sailing experience in in small boats - join a sailing club or buy a Laser or small dingy, and sail and sail. You r learning experiences will be far dimplier and less expensive or dangerous, than the same experience would be on a 40 footer.
Old 02-08-2012