SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Tenderfooted Sailor Girl

3K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  kidwithsailboat 
#1 ·
My name is Elizabeth...I'm new to sailing. I've been once before about 5 years ago and have been in love with it ever since, but I live in Louisiana so I can't really pursue it wholly at the moment. Not many people around here have sailboats and we don't live close to the coast. All I'm trying to do here is learn more about it and hopefully meet some people who can help me get started on my sailing journey. I've always dreamed of even someday raising a family on a sailboat. Please, any advice you have is welcomed. Thanks a bunch guys

#3 ·
Welcome. This is a good place in which to get started. Lurk around the forums, ask questions (when you know enough to know what questions to ask), and you'll be on your way.

#5 ·
Thanks everyone. I'm not close to Shreveport, quite the opposite actually, but I could probably check out Lake Arthur. What about near the Lafayette/Baton Rouge area? Also, I'm a student at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and there is NO sailing club sadly.

#14 ·
Also, I'm a student at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and there is NO sailing club sadly.
You should just start one. A couple of guys that I sail with here in the Kansas City area (you can't get much more landlocked than KC) started a sailing team when they were in college. They never competed in a single race, but they got several write ups in the school paper, got a page in the year book, and got to tell everyone that they were college athletes. How cool is that?

Might be worth looking into.

#6 ·