SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Aspiring Sailor

597 views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  melody1204 
#1 ·
Hi All!
I am a 24 yr old student in North Carolina pursuing a degree in business management and a focus on entrepreneurship. I have always like the idea of traveling and have focused my efforts on making myself mobile. I am now the owner of two small companies that can be managed remotely and am beginning to make arrangements to start traveling come May. The idea of living and traveling on a sailboat is very appealing and an exciting daydream that I often entertain. I have never sailed before and am lacking friends who could advise me on steps to be taken to prepare myself for such an adventure. I would appreciate it if anyone could send me information on things I should consider/do between now and May.
In the meantime I plan to seek out a boat somewhere around the length of 30'. I am not sure if I will be traveling alone so maybe 30' would be to large for one person...? I also will be learning to sail on a local lake in a very small sail boat and will be reading how to's and watching informative videos from Netflix. I am sure it would be helpful to find a sailing club but due to my location I am afraid this is not possible. Another issue on my mind is how I will manage my online businesses while traveling. I will need ample power to run a laptop daily and expect to require internet multiple times a week.
This thought is a relatively new obsession so please help me make this a reality through suggestions and feedback.

Cheers,
Ryan

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi Ryan!