SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Tampa Area NEWB! (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/95232-tampa-area-newb.html)

pdxsmay 12-26-2012 12:56 PM

Tampa Area NEWB!

Hi 40 yr old male that took a leap of faith and moved my wife from Portland, Oregon to St. Pete just to learn how to sail more!!! I have very little sailing experience, wife comes from a family of sailors. Looking to crew, help with maintenance or just good company on day trips locally. I will take direction and do any grunt work (cleaning, repairs) you need done for lessons and experience.

I have powerboated for a few years and have only taken a sailboat out 4 times, but absolutely fell in love with it!! I decided to chase a dream of sailing the Caribbean one day and convinced my wife to move here just to "train". We will be in the market for our own 28-30 ft boat by this time next year, in the meantime I would like to help anybody who may need repairs or cleaning done in exchange for experience.

I am free most evenings and weekends. I have experience in auto mechanics, electrical wiring, minor plumbing, and computer tech work (networks and system support is what I do for a living)

Thank you for your considerations!!

smackdaddy 01-16-2013 12:02 PM

Re: Tampa Area NEWB!

Welcome to SN, dude. You'll like the place.

Captainmeme 01-16-2013 12:25 PM

Welcome to Sailnet, we are not elitists here although in your case because you power boated we might make an exception ;)

Lake Superior Sailor 01-16-2013 07:16 PM

Welcome to sailnet! Why are all you helpful guys down there? You should have no trouble getting in there, just start hanging out at your local marina. And if you ever get up here look me up ......Dale

BenMerc 02-02-2013 06:41 PM