SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

New to sailnet, Mainer who wants to get into sailing

944 views 8 replies 8 participants last post by  downeast450 
#1 ·
Hi!

I'm new to Sailnet, and hopefully you guys can help me if I need any help as I start learning about sailing.

I'm from Midcoast Maine, and I haven't even purchased a sailboat yet but I really want to.

So I know I'm getting ahead of myself by mentioning sailing trips... but:

Are there sailboats that match the following criteria:

- Can Sail from Maine to St. John's, Nova Scotia

- A sailboat I can learn and begin sailing with around Maine before making sailing trips

- Under $1,000 for boat

Thanks! Happy Holidays!

#3 ·
A friend from the yacht club sailed from Maine to NS on a Pearson 30. I am not very experienced but would imagine you'd want an inboard engine and appropriate electronics (my previous boat was under equipped and it ended up being dangerous when I needed radio and wished I had had a depth sounder - the only electronics on board was my iPhone). If you find boats in the $1000 range, let me know I am also on the market for a new one :) Good luck.

#5 ·
Moose, welcome to Sailnet (and potentially to sailing!).

Based on the questions that you are asking, I highly recommend that you check your local area for a US Power and Sail or USCG Auxiliary sailing course. They are inexpensive and will give you a solid foundation for starting your sailing education (which will never end, hopefully). I would also recommend joining a local sailing club so that you can sail on other people's boats and ask questions.